## Montana State Senate



Sept 29th, 2021 3pm

Dear Senate President Blasdel and Speaker Galt:

The purpose of this letter is to request the appointment of a Special Select Committee of legislators appointed according to the current majority/minority ratio. The committee will hear testimony concerning past Montana elections and review the current election laws in Montana.

## Article IV of the Montana Constitution states:

Elections. The legislature shall provide by law the requirements for residence, registration, absentee voting, and administration of elections. It may provide for a system of poll booth registration, and shall insure the purity of elections and guard against abuses of the electoral process.

Many of our constituents have reached out to us with questions about Montana election security. The Montana Legislature needs to fulfill their Constitutional duties as outlined in Article IV of the Montana Constitution and MCA 13-19-104(3)(a),(b). The Select Committee would conduct hearings about the process and security of Montana elections and propose future changes if needed; including legislation.

All Montana voters must have absolute faith in our state, county and local elections. <u>Our oath of office makes it clear that we have this fiduciary responsibility.</u> The election process must be transparent to the public and withstand scrutiny.

The best legislation is thought out, vetted and has input from all stake holders. This is true no matter the issue.

This select committee would give us the time and venue to uphold our constitutional duties.

We, the undersigned, do hereby request a Special Select Committee be appointed for the purpose of fulfilling our constitutional obligations, and that you respond by Oct 6th, 2021.

Faithfully for Freedom-

Sen Kenneth Bogner – SD19 Sen Bob Brown - SD7 Sen Mike Cuffe - SD1 Sen John Esp - SD30 Sen Jason Ellsworth – SD43 Sen Steve Fitzpatrick - SD10 Sen Chris Friedel – SD26 Sen Terry Gauthier – SD 40 Sen Butch Gillespie - SD9 Sen Carl Glimm – SD2 Sen Greg Hertz – SD6 Sen Steve Hinebauch – SD18 Sen Dave Howard – SD29 Sen Brian Hoven – SD13 Sen Bob Kennan – SD5 Sen Mike Lang – SD17 Sen Theresa Manzella – SD44 Sen Tom McGillvray - SD23 Sen Keith Regier - SD3 Sen Dan Salomon - SD47 Sen Cary Smith - SD 27 Sen Russ Temple – SD14 Sen Gordy Vance - SD34

Sen Jeff Wellborn - SD<sub>3</sub>6

Rep Fred Anderson – HD20 Rep Dan Bartel - HD29 Rep Becky Beard – HD8o Rep David Bedey - HD 86 Rep Seth Berglee - HD58 Rep Marta Bertoglio - HD75 Rep Michele Binkley – HD 85 Rep Larry Brewster – HD44 Rep Ed Buttrey - HD21 Rep Jennifer Carlson – HD69 Rep Geraldine Custer - HD39 Rep Neil Duram – HD2 Rep Julie Dooling - HD70 Rep Paul Fielder – HD13 Rep Ross Fitzgerald - HD17 Rep Frank Flemming – HD51 Rep Gregory Frazer - HD 78 Rep John Fuller – HD 8 Rep Steve Galloway - HD24 Rep Frank Garner - HD7 Rep Jane Gillette - HD64 Rep Steve Gist – HD25

Rep Sharon Greef – HD88 Rep Steve Gunderson – HD1 Rep Ed Hill – HD 28 Rep Caleb Hinkle - HD68 Rep Jed Hinkle – HD67 Rep Ken Holmlund – HD<sub>3</sub>8 Rep Llew Jones - HD18 Rep Josh Kassmier – HD27 Rep Scot Kerns – HD23 Rep Rhonda Knudsen – HD 34 Rep Casey Knudsen – HD33 Rep Dennis Lenz- HD53 Rep Brandon Ler – HD35 Rep Denley Loge - HD14 Rep Marty Malone - HD59 Rep Ron Marshall – HD87 Rep Wendy McKamey - HD19 Rep Braxton Mitchell - HD3 Rep Terry Moore - HD54 Rep Fiona Nave – HD57 Rep Mark Noland – HD 10 Rep Bob Phalen – HD<sub>3</sub>6 Rep Brian Putman – HD9 Rep Joe Read – HD93 Rep Amy Regier - HD6 Rep Matt Regier - HD4 Rep Linda Reksten – HD12 Rep Vince Ricci – HD55 Rep Jerry Schillinger - HD<sub>37</sub> Rep Kerri Seekins- Crowe - HD43 Rep Lola Sheldon-Galloway – HD22 Rep Derek Skees – HD11 Rep Mallerie Stromwold - HD50 Rep Jeremy Trebas – HD26 Rep Brad Tschida – HD97 Rep Barry Usher – HD40 Rep Sue Vinton – HD56 Rep Tom Welch - HD72 Rep Kathy Whitman - HD96 Rep Katie Zolnikov - HD45

## Montana State Senate

