We are committed to transparency in every aspect of funding our organization.

Accepting financial support does not mean we endorse donors or their products, services, or opinions.

We accept gifts, grants, and sponsorships from individuals, organizations, and foundations to help with our general operations, coverage of specific topics, and special projects. Our news judgments are made independently and are not based on or influenced by donors. We do not give supporters the right to assign, review, or edit content.

We will make public all donors who give to Montana Free Press. As a nonprofit, we will avoid accepting donations from anonymous sources, and we will not accept donations from political parties. We will not accept donations from sources that, as determined by our board of directors, present a conflict of interest with our work or compromise our independence.

Major Support Provided By

Arnold Ventures – $200,000
American Journalism Project – $191,674
Sarah Cahill – $100,000
Wilburforce Foundation – $90,000
Inasmuch Foundation – $75,000
High Stakes Foundation – $75,000
Philip I. Kent Foundation – $70,000
Greater Montana Foundation – $70,000
Daylight Foundation – $65,000
Lee and Donna Metcalf Charitable Trust – $50,000
Cloud Mountain Foundation – $40,000
Fund for Nonprofit News at the Miami Foundation – $36,000
Linda and David Cornfield – $35,000
Montana Healthcare Foundation – $30,000
John Tichenor – $25,000
Solutions Journalism Network – $20,750
Arthur M. Blank Family Foundation COVID Response Fund – $20,000
Knight Fund for Sustainable Publishing Solutions – $20,000
The GroundTruth Project, Inc. (Report for America) – $20,000
Simone and Tench Coxe – $14,395.09
Montana Newspaper Association – $12,000
Silicon Valley Community Foundation – $11,000
Anne and Greg Avis – $10,000
Institute for Nonprofit News/Columbia School of Journalism – $8,000
Deirdre Black – $7,244.70
Buchanan Capital, Inc. – $7,000
Sheffield Van Buren – $7,000
Mark Huber – $6,750
John Brueggeman – $6,500
Carl Haefling – $6,010
Stanley Sandrowicz – $6,000
Rick and Jane Hays – $5,040
Alan Kreczko and Becky Latimer – $5,000
Google News Initiative – $5,000
Gregar Lind and Monica Tranell – $5,000
Lenfest Institute for Journalism – $5,000
Nancy Stephens – $5,000
ThinkerCon, LLC – $5,000

Membership support

To view a complete list of Montana Free Press members, click here.

Montana Free Press is an independent, 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. EIN 47-5237719. For more information on ways to support our journalism, please visit montanafreepress.org/support-MTFP.